Five delegates represented First Church at the Annual Conference of the Northern Illinois Conference (NIC) in Schaumberg, IL on June 8-10. Delegates Grant Bailey, S.E. Brick, Phil Crihfield, Elaine Moy Johnson, and Colin McDonald attended, and also two First Church members who served ex officio:  Nancy Pendergrass, who serves as Chair of the NIC Nominations Committee and delegate to Jurisdictional Conference, and Martha Rudy, who is completing her term as the Chair of the NIC Board of Trustees.


The delegation authored and shares this report on the highlights of the NIC Annual Conference, including the status of the UMC, significant legislation and specifically social justice-related legislation, an update on Boy Scout litigation, and a brief note on troubling news received just before the adjournment of the final session.